From Buddha World

In Buddhism, Avīci (Sanskrit and Pali: "without waves"; also transliterated Avichi) is the lowest level of the Naraka or "hell" realm, into which the dead who have committed grave misdeeds may be reborn. People reborn in Avīci generally have committed one or more of the Five Grave Offenses:

  • Intentionally murdering one's father
  • Intentionally murdering one's mother
  • Killing an Arhat (enlightened being)
  • Shedding the blood of a Buddha
  • Creating a schism within the Sangha, the community of Buddhist monks and nuns.

Buddhism teaches that rebirth into Naraka is temporary, while the offending being works off the karma they performed. Similarly, rebirth into Avīci hell is not eternal. However, suffering in Avīci is the longest of all the levels of hell, by some accounts over 1018 years long. Some sutras state that rebirth in Avīci will be for innumerable kalpas (eons). When the offending being passes away after one kalpa, he is again reborn in the same place, undergoing suffering for another kalpa, and on and on until he has exhausted his bad karma. For this reason, Avīci hell is also known as the "non-stop way".

Бодхисаттва Ваджрапани
Бодхисаттва Ваджрапани